# TOWN OF WATERVILLE VALLEY SELECTBOARD SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES

DATE: March 12, 2024, following the 2024 Town Meeting.

MEMBERS PRESENT: Richard Rita (Chair), Bob Fries (Vice-Chair), and Wendi Rathgeber (Member)

**MEMBERS ABSENT: None.** 

OTHERS PRESENT: Mark Decoteau (Town Manager) and Sharon Charron (Executive Assistant).

1. The meeting was called to order at 8:40 pm by Chair Rich Rita.

Rich Rita, Chair of the Board, states this is an in-person meeting following the completion of the 2024 Town Meeting.

# 2. Appointment / Re-appointment of Town Boards and Committee Members

Rich Rita, re-elected to the Selectboard, made motions to elect officers.

- Bob Fries motions to nominate Rich Rita to continue as Select Board Chair. Wendi Rathgeber: 2nds the motion. A unanimous voice vote carried the motion.
- Wendi Rathgeber motions to nominate Bob Fries as Select Board Vice-Chair. Rich Rita: 2nds the motion. A unanimous voice vote carried the motion.

Rich Rita will continue as the Select Board Ex-Officio to the Planning Board. Wendi Rathgeber will serve as an alternate Ex-Officio to the Planning Board and will be the Select Board representative on the Town Core Working Group (TCWG). Rich will also back up Wendi on the TCWG as a sub-committee of the Planning Board.

### Planning Board Appointments are as follows:

- Bob Fries motions to appoint the below-listed individuals to the Planning Board. Rich Rita: 2nds the motion. A unanimous voice vote carried the motion.
  - o Margaret Turner, Alternate Member, Term expires 2027.
  - o Morgan Diehm, Full Member, Term expires 2027.
  - o William Spence, Full Member, Term expires 2027.

## Zoning Board of Adjustment (ZBA) Appointments are as follows:

- Wendi Rathgeber motions to appoint the below-listed individuals to the ZBA. Bob Fries: 2nds the motion. A unanimous voice vote carried the motion.
  - o Paul Saulnier, Full Member, Term expires 2027.
  - o Barry Fish, Full Member, Term expires 2027.
  - o Tom Myrick, Full Member, Term Expires 2025.
  - o Patricia Guadette, Alternate Member, Term expires 2027.

## Conservation Commission Appointments are as follows:

• Rich Rita motions to appoint the below-listed individuals to the Conservation Commission. Bob Fries: 2nds the motion. A unanimous voice vote carried the motion.

- o Jennie Lucas, Full Member, Term expires 2027.
- o Cyndy Piekos, Full Member, Term expires 2027.
- o Patrick Marr, Alternate Member, Term expires 2027.

## Community Power Committee Appointments are as follows:

 Rich Rita motions to appoint the below-listed individuals to the Community Power Committee.

Wendi Rathgeber: 2nds the motion. A unanimous voice vote carried the motion.

- o Terry Roper
- o Kelly Cannon
- o David McCabe
- Tom Prendergast

### 3. Non-Public Session - Personnel

The Board goes into Non-Public Session under RSA 91-A: 3, II(a) The dismissal, promotion, or compensation of any public employee or the disciplining of such employee, or the investigation of any charges against him or her, **unless** the employee affected (1) has a right to a public meeting, and (2) requests that the meeting be open, in which case the request shall be granted, and (d) Consideration of the acquisition, sale or lease of real or personal property which, if discussed in public, would likely benefit a party or parties whose interests are adverse to those of the general community. The Motion was made by Bob Fries and seconded by Wendi Rathgeber and followed by a roll call vote as follows: Select Board Chair Rita – aye, Select Board Vice-Chair Fires – aye, Select Board Member Rathgeber – aye, and the Board went into Non-Public Session at 8:43 pm. The Board came out of Non-Public Session at 8:44 pm.

Upon return to the public session, a motion was made to seal the minutes by Rich Rita and seconded by Bob Fries because it was determined that divulgence of this information likely would adversely affect the reputation of any person other than a member of this Board. A unanimous voice vote passed the motion.

### Adjourn

Bob Fries motions to adjourn the meeting at 8:44 pm. Rich Rita: 2nds. A unanimous voice vote carried the motion.

Respectfully Submitted, Sharon Charron, Executive Assistant